Ahmet Ümit was born in 1960 in the city of Gaziantep in southern Turkey. He moved to Istanbul in 1978 to
attend university. In 1983 he both graduated from the Public Administration
Faculty of Marmara University and wrote his very first story. An active member
of the Turkish Communist Party from 1974 until 1989 Ümit took part in the
underground movement for democracy while Turkey was under the rule of a
military dictatorship between 1980-1990. In 1985-86 he illegally attended the
Academy for Social Sciences in Moscow.
Ümit worked in the advertising sector from 1989-1998 and is currently employed
as cultural advisor at the Goethe Foundation in Istanbul. He has one daughter Gül.

Since 1989 Ümit has published one volume of
poetry three volumes of short stories a book of fairytales one novella and
six novels. One of Turkey’s
most renowned contemporary authors Ümit is especially well-known for his
mastery of the mystery genre as reflected in many of his bestselling novels and
short story volumes. Drawing upon the unique political and historical
background of his home country Ümit delves into the psyches of his
well-wrought characters as he weaves enthralling tales of murder and political

Film rights to his novella (Bir Ses Böler
Geceyi/A Voice Divides the Night) and several of his novels (Sis ve Gece/The
Fog and the Night Patasana Kukla/The Puppet) have been sold and several of
his short stories have been adapted to television as well. Two of his novels
Sis ve Gece (The Fog and the Night) and Patasana have been published in Greek
by Oceanida and Kedros respectively and Kedros will also be publishing his
novel Beyoglu Rapsodisi (Beyoglu Rhapsody) in 2005. Unionsverlag has acquired
German rights to Sis ve Gece (The Fog and the Night) and will be publishing in
2005. A book of short stories entitled Aşk Köpekliktir (Love is for the Dogs)
was published in November of 2004 and his latest work the novel Kavim (The
Tribe) has been published this year (2006). Ninatta’nın Bileziği (2006) İnsan
Ruhunun Haritası (2007) Olmayan Ülke (2008) Bab-ı Esrar (The dervish Gate) (2008)
Agatha’nın Anahtarı (2010) İstanbul Hatırası (A memento for Istanbul) (2010)

01.01.2010 13:15:00 - Yeni Roman Projesii
Ahmet ümitin yeni kitabı İSTANBUL HATIRASINI 06.05.2010 Cumartesi günü 17:00 - 19:00 arasında kadıköy medyanı more

Web Site How Displaced
Agathanın Anahtarı Aşk Köpekliktir Beyoğlu Rapsodisi Bir Ses Böler Geceyi Çıplak Ayaklıydı Gece ninnata'nın bileziği kar kokusu kavim kukla kitap beyoğlu rapsodisi kitapgalerisi patasana Şeytan Ayrıntıda Gizlidir Sis ve Gece Ahmet Ümit İstanbul Hatırası Aşk Köpekliktir sultanı öldürmek
Books | Gallery | Press | Biografia | News | Future Works
© 2010 ahmet Ümit. All rights reserved.  
  designed by medyanomi